Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA)

How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 139 CE courses, most popular
$95Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50Add to cart
Histology CE Package$65Add to cart
Histology CE User Increase$65Add to cart
Individual course$20Add to cart
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Risk Management in the Clinical Laboratory. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Risk Management in the Clinical Laboratory (online CE course)
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA)

In 1988, Congress passed The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) in order to establish quality standards for all laboratory testing to ensure accuracy, reliability, and timeliness of laboratory results regardless of where the patient's specimen was tested.
The CLIA regulations are based on the complexity of the test method; the more complicated the method, the more stringent the requirements. Three categories of tests have been established: waived, moderate (which includes the sub-category of provider-performed microscopy), and high complexity.
CLIA stipulates the quality standards for proficiency testing, patient management, quality control, personnel qualifications, and quality assurance for those laboratories performing moderate and/or high complexity testing. Those laboratories performing only waived testing must enroll in CLIA and are required to follow the manufacturer's instructions for those testing methods performed.
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is charged with laboratory registration; fee collection; surveys; surveyor guidelines and training; enforcement; and approval of proficiency testing providers, as well as accrediting organizations and exempt states.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is responsible for CLIA studies, convening the CLIA Committee, and providing scientific and technical support and consultation to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
It is the responsibility of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to categorize new test methodologies.